teamworksdogtraining

InBoard Training program

Alfie Lolar 9/25-10/3

on September 26, 2021

9/26 Leash Manners

Today we did a session with Alfie on leash manners. We started out a little bit rough but progressed very nicely throughout the session. Alfie did a very nice job with his focus and leash manners today. Well done. Liz

9/26 Drop It

Today Alfie and I worked on sharpening his “drop it” skill! He had some trouble reining it in at first and was thoroughly enjoying his play time, but he was able to bring it in and do some work for me. Good job Alfie! I’d like to work a little more on his recall while playing in the future – it’s already pretty good but I know we can get his response time even faster with a little more work. We had a good time together today! – Cal

9/27 Place

Alfie and I worked on his place cue today and he did a really nice job! We worked on building duration and a bit of distance and he caught on pretty quickly. He consistently offered a down when I asked him to go to his place and was able to hold his place with a 15 second rate of reinforcement while I was walking around. Nice focus today! – Nautica

9/27 Leash Manners foucs

Today I worked with Alfie outside on his leash manners focus, he did very well handling the distractions of the other people outside, kept a really awesome loose leash had a really great heel and checked in with me without me asking. He did such a great job today and kept a really nice loose leash. ~Jacquie

9/28 Distraction Proofing

Alfie did a wonderful job and was able to focus on me. He had great leash manners and was fast to check in with me. He does need more practice but over all very good job. ~Jacquie

9/28 Place

today Alfie worked on his place. I mainly focused on making sure that he was consistent with lying down on the place and waiting for the release que. Overall he really impressed me today and was consistent with both. Great job! -Anna

9/29 Leash Manners Outside

Alfie and I worked on his leash manners outside in a high distraction area he did a great job! He was a little distracted by the smells and cars passing at first, but he caught on pretty quickly. The hardest thing for him was when a person walked out but I was still able to lure some looks. He walked politely throughout the entire session and showed nice focus. Overall great work! – Nautica

9/29 distraction proofing

Today Alfie and I worked in the classroom on his LeashManners and Focus while Nautica and coast we’re on the other side of the barrier. Alfie did a wonderful job today not worrying about Coast and Nautica offering really good eye Contact and kept a nice loose leash throughout the session. We did have to work on him not demanding for treats but overall it was a good session and he made good progress today. ~Jacquie

9/30 Leash Manners Outside

Really great job today, Alfie! We worked outside today in one of our black play yards and spent the session doing some leash manners. At the beginning I worked more on having him check in, and then he would go back with his nose to the ground. I explained in the video that I’m usually okay with this most of the time on a walk because I like the idea of a dog being able to use those senses, especially his nose. But towards the end of the video I made sure that I did work on more healing. In order to do that, I had to start out really small and have him in a sit and take even just half a step forward and making sure he was looking at me. I use a very high rate of reinforcement to do that and I don’t go very fast. Heeling like this can be tiring for a dog, so I would suggest making sure these sessions are short so that he understands that there are different types of walks. Sometimes you want him to walk next to you, and sometimes it’s okay for him to sniff ahead and explore. You can usually use a different cue for either of those, and so I would recommend making sure that he understands a difference between a heel at the side for the moment, and a release you can walk where you’d like but I’d still like the leash to be loose. Really good job today! – Amy

9/30 polite greetings

today Alfie worked on his polite greetings and no jump outside with the help of one of our other trainers Jackie. Overall he did a really nice job and I was struggling to figure out ways to make him want to jump up so we could work on it. After trying multiple different things we finally figured out that when he gets really excited he has a tendency to jump up once or twice but is easy to redirect which is good to see.-Anna

10/1 distraction proofing with piper

today Alfie worked on his focus with Piper in the room. I was really impressed with him throughout the session and he showed off some really great focus, and only jumped up a couple of times throughout his session. Near the end of the session we decided to work on a duration down and he really surprised me there and was able to hold a down for about two minutes! Great job Alfie! -Anna

10/1 distraction proofing

Today I worked with Alfie outside on his focus and leash manners while Anna and Zooey we’re the other end of the parking lot. Alfie did a really good job today and did not mind the Joey and Anna were working at the other end of the parking lot, he was a bit pushy for treats  so we addressed that during the session. Alfie then made good improvements through out the session and was very focused really good ending. ~Jacquie

10/2 Leash Manners – kennel room

Alfie did very well with this today! He hardly pulled despite all of the interesting dogs and people. We also worked on some stays because he was doing so well and he made some good progress! -Maria

10/2 Duration Down-Stay

Today Alfie and I worked on his down-stay skills, specifically with duration. He did a superb job today and was able to hold a several-minute long down stay under some slight distractions. In the future, I’d like to increase the distraction level or duration time independently, but he has an absolutely stellar grasp on what I was asking of him. Really good job today Alfie, can’t wait to work with you again in the future! – Cal

10/3 Rally + Leash Manners Outdoors

This was a good level of challenge for Alfie. He was able to accomplish each of the tasks but needed just a little redirection from distractions to do it. Great work! – Hopler

10/3 Down-stay (Cafe style)

Today Alfie and I worked on his down-stay skills while I worked on paperwork. This simulated an environment where you are otherwise busy and he needs to keep focused on the task at hand – laying down and being calm and patient. He did a phenomenal job, popping up a few times at distractions but always willing to quickly hop back into work for me when asked. He did a great job and I’d love to work more with him in the future! – Cal